GLOSS Station Handbook

Station information sheet

GLOSS number188
Station name

Faraday, Argentine Islands

Time zone000E, GMT
Latitude (+ve N)-65.25
Longitude (+ve E)-64.26666
Observation period(s)Float gauge 1958-; Pressure gauge 1992-
Responsible countryU.K.
Authority responsible
for tide gauge
British Antarctic Survey, Ice and Climate Division, High Cross, Madingley Road, Cambridge, CB3 0ET, U.K.
GLOSS contactUK
Committed to GLOSSYes
Digital dataYes
Additional parametersSea temperature, barometric pressure
Data acquisition rateContinuous recording, digitized at hourly intervals from chart recorder. 15 minutes from DQ, filtered to TGBM description Trig point 204
High frequency data at BODCDownload from BODC  Download from BODC  Download from BODC   View Faraday, Argentine Islands site history   View BODC document #78876   View BODC document #78814  
High frequency data at UHSLCDownload from UHSLC   Download documentation qa700a.dmt from UHSLC   Format documentation for UHSLC data
Real-time data availableYes
Additional parameters (real-time)Sea temperature, barometric pressure
Benchmark relationshipsTide Gauge Zero (TGZ) = 8.075m below Trig point 204
Data at PSMSL 
Annual MSL (RLR) dataDownload annual MSL (RLR) data for Faraday, Argentine Islands
Annual MSL (RLR) plotView annual MSL (RLR) plot for Faraday, Argentine Islands
MSL methodDoodson X0 filter
PSMSL code913
Other relevant codesUHSLC 700
Additional information 
Nearest Met. stationFaraday Base, BAS (89063)
Last updated2002-12-11

Related BODC pages

Sea level portal      World Ocean Circulation Experiment (WOCE) — Sea  level
UK Tide Gauge Network     Climate Variability and Predictability (CLIVAR)
GLOSS project page  


Related external links

Global Sea Level Observing System (GLOSS)     Permanent Service for Mean Sea Level (PSMSL)
University of Hawai`i Sea Level Centre (UHSLC)  World Ocean Circulation Experiment (WOCE)


Permanent Service for Mean Sea Level (PSMSL) Global Sea Level Observing System (GLOSS) Station Handbook Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC)